News Page


College Emmy Award Winners

Monday, September 11, 2017
Emmy Winners

A Robert Morris University video broadcast team won Best Live Sports coverage at the 2017 Mid-Atlantic Emmy Awards ceremony in Hershey, Pa. in the collegiate production category.

The Colonial Sports Network team's broadcast coverage of men’s basketball game vs. Bryant beat out two other finalists in the collegiate category — one of which was also an RMU team with many of the same students and their coverage of a men's hockey game against Holy Cross. The other nominee for Best Live Sports was Shippensburg University.

The winning RMU team of 10 students included Dylan McKenna, producer; Dakota Lamb, director; Vince Russo, play-by-play announcer; Dontae Pearson, color commentator; Sam Anthony, sideline reporter; Zach Laufer, technical director; Morgan Torchia, replay; Alec Balenciaga, graphic designer; Tori Flick, graphics operator; and Nick Milliron, close follow.

RMU student teams were also finalists in the Long Form Nonfiction broadcast category for their "Hockey at Heinz" program and for Public Affairs/Community Service for their 2016 election night coverage.

Penn State teams won six of the Mid-Atlantic Emmys, while RMU, Shippensburg, Temple, and Point Park each won one. Temple led with 11 nominations, followed by Penn State with seven and RMU's four.

The Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences has 700 members in Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Delaware.